Categories
#blogboost blog

Five Roses Flower Pancakes

A friend of mine from the Ultimate Blog Challenge, Kebba Buckley Button, asked for more information on pancakes and the Lake of the Woods Flour Mill.

I worked in the mill in Keewatin, Ontario for a few months after high school and before moving to Toronto to study electronics.

1953 edition

Here is a picture of the cook book 📖 they published in 1953. It replaced the previous, second edition, published in 1931. This version was published because they were now selling the new vitamin enriched bread.

This cookbook is my go-to book for my preferred pancake recipe. Now that I have taken a picture of it, I can use my phone or tablet to pull up the recipe and save some wear and tear on the book.

Don’t forget the milk

I often add a little more milk and an extra egg to get a thinner crepe like pancake instead of the thicker cake like ones.

Like all good cook books they have a lot of other useful information. Here is a note on how many ounces there are in a cup. In North America, 8 oz. = 1 cup. However, in the U.K., they use an Imperial Standard of measuring and if you buy a measuring cup there, it will show 10 ounces to s cup. If you look carefully at the chart below it shows an Imperial pint is 2 1/2 cups and an Imperial Quart is 5 cups.

Useful conversions.

Now, what do you put on your pancakes? For me, it is Real Canadian Maple Syrup. Not that colored modified corn syrup that is labeled “pancake syrup”! A little butter melted on top first makes them taste creamier.

Dedicated to pancake lovers everywhere.

Pancake Tuesday is coming up February 21 this year. You may know it as Fat Tuesday or Carnival. The end of Mardi Gras, and the beginning of the Christian season of Lent.

– Where do you want to go this year? –

By 2baccountable

Travelling the world to see what's there, while it is still there.

4 replies on “Five Roses Flower Pancakes”

Hi there! Thanks for sharing this… it brought back sooo many wonderful memories of my grandmother!!! I am from Canada, although I’ve been in the states now for over 30 years! My grandmother had & used this cookbook all the time! My mother had, and sadly now they’ve both passed and I have not been able to find it.
Thanks again for sharing & good luck in the UBC.
`

Liked by 1 person

Doug, thank you! I’ve been wanting to see this recipe! It’s somehow more wonderful for the error of leaving out the milk. 🙂 Ha! I guessed you would use real maple syrup– such an exquisite flavor, like no other. Do you ever melt butter with the maple syrup and pour the combination over your pancakes? I cherish that the book is dedicated to the housewives of Canada! Fortunately, other people are allowed to use the recipes. Last question: who are the 5 Roses? Thanks so much for this post.

Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.